Rosebud alternatives after the free plan ended
Rosebud retired its free plan effective September 30, 2026, citing the cost of its upgraded memory system (source). Staying means Bloom at $12.99/month or $107.99/year. Here's how the alternatives compare, with free options listed first.
| Alternative | Free plan | Paid from | Platforms | Used to train AI? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rosebud (for reference) | No | $8.99/mo | iOS, Android, Web, Mac | Not stated as a blanket promise; policy says AI providers are under Zero Data Retention agreements and discard data after processing. |
| Reflection | Yes | $5.75/mo | iOS, Android, Web, Mac | No. Entries are never used to train AI models, on free or paid plans (AI is Google Gemini on a paid tier). |
| Dayora | Yes | $6.00/mo | Web | Possibly. Dayora says its AI providers may use entries to train and improve their models. |
| Day One | Yes | $6.25/mo | iOS, Android, Web, Mac, Apple Watch | unknown (not stated on the pricing page) |
| Mindsera | Yes | $10.75/mo | iOS, Android, Web, Apple Watch | No. Data is not used to train or improve AI models (per homepage). |
| Stoic | Yes | See notes | iOS, Android, Web, Mac, Apple Watch | unknown |
| Life Note | Limited | $8.33/mo | iOS, Android, Web | unknown (not stated on the FAQ page) |
| Untold | Limited | $9.00/mo | iOS | unknown |
| Architect | Limited | $24.92/mo | Unknown | No. The AI provider does not use the content to train its models (per Architect). |
Reflection
Guided journaling with an AI coach and a generous free plan.
Free plan: Yes, "Free Forever": unlimited entries, prompts, reviews, analytics, search and reminders (limited syncing). The FAQ says the free plan includes access to the AI Coach.
Pricing: Premium: $8/month, or $5.75/month billed annually.
Best for: Beginners and anyone who wants AI coaching without paying up front.
Dayora
Free web-based AI journal that writes back to every entry.
Free plan: Yes, a free core with no card or trial: unlimited entries, a reply to every entry, voice journaling, mood tracking, Reflect chat, memory and full export.
Pricing: Plus (optional): $9/month or $72/year; $6/month locked in for anyone joining before Nov 1, 2026.
Best for: Budget-conscious users who want free AI replies and accept the training trade-off.
Day One
Long-running journaling app; AI reflection features sit in the Gold tier.
Free plan: Yes, Basic ($0): unlimited entries and journals, 1 photo per entry, end-to-end encryption, 1 device. No AI features on Basic.
Pricing: Silver $49.99/year (no AI); Gold $74.99/year (adds AI features). 1-month free trial in the app.
Best for: Memory-keepers who want a mature journal first and AI second.
Mindsera
AI journal for thinking clearly, built around mental models and frameworks.
Free plan: Yes, the Curious plan: journal, habit tracker, passcode, tags, export and 52+ writing frameworks. AI features are paid-only.
Pricing: Genius: $14.99/month, or $129/year ($10.75/month).
Best for: Analytical thinkers who want frameworks like First Principles or Ikigai.
Stoic
Morning and evening reflection app with mental-health tools; AI is a higher tier.
Free plan: Yes: daily prompts, quotes, affirmations, basic guided journals and a limited set of exercises.
Pricing: US App Store lists Premium from $6.99, Premium + AI from $12.99, and Lifetime Premium at $299. Billing periods per price aren't shown on the listing.
Best for: Apple users who want routines, mood tracking and breathing exercises in one app.
Life Note
Journal with AI mentors grounded in the writings of 1,000+ historical figures.
Free plan: Yes, a free tier with basic features and AI mentor access. Writing 3 entries in a week unlocks a Weekly Letter and Inner Portrait.
Pricing: Premium: $10.99/month or $99.99/year.
Best for: Philosophy and psychology fans who want perspective from historical thinkers.
Untold
Voice-first journal that turns what you say into insights, perspectives and meditations.
Free plan: Free to download with in-app purchases. What is free vs Premium isn't published on the pages we checked.
Pricing: Untold Premium (US App Store): $12.99/month or $107.99/year.
Best for: People who would rather talk than type.
Architect
AI journal with selectable mentor personas that push back.
Free plan: Writing is free. You get 11 introductory mentor responses, then 1 mentor response per rolling 7 days.
Pricing: Subscription: $9.99/week, $33/month or $299/year.
Best for: People who want direct, challenging feedback on decisions.
FAQ
Is Rosebud still free?
No. Rosebud's help center says its free plan was retired effective September 30, 2026. Continuing means Rosebud Bloom at $12.99/month or $107.99/year.
Will I lose my Rosebud entries?
Rosebud says nothing you have written is going away and you can export everything at any time. Export a copy you control before switching.
Which alternatives still have a free AI journal?
Reflection (free plan with access to the AI Coach) and Dayora (free core with a reply to every entry) offer free AI. Architect and Life Note have limited free AI allowances. Mindsera, Day One and Stoic have free plans, but their AI features are paid.